top of page

What is a Third-Party Provider (TPP)?

A TPP is a third party that accesses a Payment Service User (<a href="/glossarycollection/payment-service-user" style="color:#48277C;" target="_blank" title="Payment Service User"><u>PSU</u></a>) online account via a secure interface. Typically this interface is an Application Programming Interface (<a href="/glossarycollection/application-programming-interface" style="color:#48277C;" target="_blank" title="Application Programming Interface"><u>API</u></a>). The types of TPPs included under the Second Payment Services Directive (<a href="/glossarycollection/the-second-payment-services-directive" style="color:#48277C;" target="_blank" title="The Second Payment Services Directive"><u>PSD2</u></a>) regulation are:<br/><br/>

- Account Information Service Providers (<a href="/glossarycollection/account-information-service-provider" style="color:#48277C;" target="_blank" title="Account Information Service Provider"><u>AISP</u></a>);<br/><br/>

- Payment Initiation Service Providers (<a href="/glossarycollection/payment-initiation-services-provider" style="color:#48277C;" target="_blank" title="Payment Initiation Services Provider"><u>PISP</u></a>);<br/><br/>

and,<br/><br/>

- Card Based Payment Instrument Issuers (<a href="/glossarycollection/card-based-payment-instrument-issuer" style="color:#48277C;" target="_blank" title="Card Based Payment Instrument Issuer"><u>CBPII </u></a>).<br/><br/>

To provide their services, TPPs are required to register with and/or be authorised by their National Competent Authority (<a href="/glossarycollection/national-competent-authority" style="color:#48277C;" target="_blank" title="National Competent Authority"><u>NCA</u></a>).

Previous
bottom of page