top of page

What are the Payment Initiation (PISP) journeys as identified by the UK's Open Banking Implementation Entity?

The UK's Open Banking Implementation Entity (<a href="/glossarycollection/open-banking-implementation-entity" style="color:#48277C;" target="_blank" title="Open Banking Implementation Entity"><u>OBIE</u></a>) identifies the following journeys related to payment initiation:<br/><br/>

Single Domestic Payments – a/c selection @PISP<br/><br/>

Single Domestic Payments – BACS and CHAPS<br/><br/>

Single Domestic Payments – a/c selection @ASPSP<br/><br/>

Single Domestic Scheduled Payments (Future Dated)<br/><br/>

Standing Orders<br/><br/>

International Payments<br/><br/>

Bulk/Batch Payments<br/><br/>

Multi-authorisation Payments<br/><br/>

Confirmation of Funds for PISP – Y/N Response<br/><br/>

Payment Refunds<br/><br/>

In addition they provide the following information:<br/><br/>

"Open Banking Application Programming Interface (<a href="/glossarycollection/application-programming-interface" style="color:#48277C;" target="_blank" title="Application Programming Interface"><u>API</u></a>) specifications support Payment Initiation Services (<a href="/glossarycollection/payment-initiation-service" style="color:#48277C;" target="_blank" title="Payment Initiation Service"><u>PIS</u></a>) that enable a ayment Initiation Services Provider (<a href="/glossarycollection/payment-initiation-services-provider" style="color:#48277C;" target="_blank" title="Payment Initiation Services Provider"><u>PISP</u></a>) to initiate a payment order, with the Payment Service User (<a href="/glossarycollection/payment-service-user" style="color:#48277C;" target="_blank" title="Payment Service User"><u>PSU</u></a>) explicit consent, from their online payment account held at their Account Servicing Payment Services Provider (<a href="/glossarycollection/account-servicing-payment-service-provider" style="color:#48277C;" target="_blank" title="Account Servicing Payment Services Provider"><u>ASPSP</u></a>). The PISP is then further able to retrieve the status of a payment order. This section describes how each of the Participants (PISPs and ASPSPs) in the delivery of these services can optimise the customer experience for these services. Furthermore, it provides some clarifications to these participants on the usage of the APIs which are not covered by the technical specifications, and some best practice guidelines for implementation of the customer journeys. Please note that ASPSPs do not need to support the initiation of certain payment methods described in this section by a PISP, where the ASPSP does not support such transactions through any of their own online channels (such as future dated foreign transactions and bulk payment files).<br/><br/>

If the customer is able to initiate, for example, international payments, recurring transactions or a batch file of payments online, they should also be able to do so via a PISP, irrespective of the channel the customer has used to access the PISP."

Previous
bottom of page